Release Date: January 3, 2020                                                             

Format: Digital and Physical

Label: Crush Grove Records

Lineup: (Per Bandcamp)

  • All songs written and performed by Alex Molica

Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Favorite Tracks: Anxious Thoughts and Great Unknown

Sounds Like: 86-B, Prav Grant, Cokie The Clown, and Frank Turner

Former Denver transplant Seattle Stomp is set to drop, “Maudlin Madness” on January 3, 2013. We got our hands on an early preview. From the 2 tracks available we thoroughly enjoyed both “Anxious Thoughts” and “Great Unknown”. Give it a listen below and pick it up tomorrow here, 

I reached out to Alex Molica, aka Seattle Stomp to get his thoughts on the latest release.  See his thoughts below

CPRA: What brought you to Denver?

Seattle Stomp: Well, I had graduated from Indiana Univ. in 2016 and was going through an anywhere but here, “running from myself” so I quit music, sold all my personal possessions and cruised the US for 6 months. On the road I fell in love with Denver and after I ran out of money decided to move there. A long personal struggle with drugs and alcohol caught up with me and that’s when these songs came to be during my time in Denver in 2016 and 2017 because you can’t run from the music that creates itself inside. Lived in Denver 2016-2018 and came to Ann Arbor in 2018.

CPRA: How is the music scene here compared to where you came from?

Seattle Stomp: The scene in Denver was awesome, I really loved Hi-Dive and Lions Lair and my favorite show was seeing Guantanamo Baywatch at Hi-Dive in November 2017. Denver is very different from most places in the midwest, here if you are in a band, cites are so much closer to tour and play and develop a route if you want to not play your hometown all the time, not so in Denver. The thing I found in Denver though is that all the hippy crap seems to be overbearing so the punks really show up when there’s a good local show going on because they don’t have it as much as we do in the midwest (at least thats what I saw)

CPRA: What does 2020 have in store? 

Seattle Stomp: January is the big month for Seattle Stomp, January 3rd will be the album release in Ypsilanti, MI with Idle Ray, Jim Cherewick and CT James….January 16th St Petersburg, FL at Black Crowe Coffee with Emily Turnage and Eyelid CinemaJanuary 17th at Uncle Lous in Orlando, FL with The Grizzly Atoms, Dougie Flesch and the Slashers and Alien WitchJanuary 18th at Shanghai Nobby’s in St. Augustine, FL with AC Deathstrike, Flora LiCrame and Half my Home

CPRA: That’s fantastic! Where are you based now in Michigan? 

Seattle Stomp: Ann Arbor, MI and as you can see I did come back to music, the label and the bands after some much needed readjustments to life. 


Thanks Alex and be sure to check out his label Crush Grove Records and download the new record here tomorrow,

Help CPRA stay up and running! Hit that donate button below!

Track List (Subject To Change)

  1. Anxious Thoughts
  2. January
  3. Great Unknown
  4. Denver Song
  5. Little Red Riding Hood
  6. No Idea
  7. Power Jam Situation
  8. Mon Frere


Release Date: 7/19/2019                                                             

Format: Digital and Physical

Label: Crush Grove Records

Location: Ann Arbor, MI

Current Lineup: (Per Facebook)

  • EJ – Guitar & Vocals
  • Will – Guitar & Vocals
  • Dewey – Drums
  • Gab L.A. – Bass & Vocals

Favorite Tracks: Freak In Common, These Worlds Are Yours, Calm Down, Moving Target

Sounds Like: Dead Milkmen, The Pixies, Melvins, The Modern Lovers

What a time to be alive! The Indy punk scene seems to be blooming to life again and again. The nice part about Indy is that it can branch off with so many sub genres. You have just about everything Indy now. So let’s check out the new debut EP, from Towner with their self titled release, “Towner”. 

Help CPRA stay up and running! Hit that donate button below!

The EP starts out with “Freak In Common”. There’s some great lyrical writing with some sweet riffs and eclectic drumming. Make sure you find a freak in common with you. Next up is “These Worlds Are Yours”. This track reminds of something you would expect to hear in the early 90s on a local college radio station. 

“Calm Down”, follows and speeds up the progression. This is my favorite on the EP. This song has a possible honky tonk sound, not yet fully committing to a country tune. Indy fans will love this song. “Moving Target” is the last rack on the EP. This the perfect way to close out the EP. The lyrics are catchy, deep and meaningful. 

Pick Up A Bad Ass Shirt today!

In conclusion the “Towner” EP, may quickly become a favorite for lovers of the Indy scene. You can check it out and download here on 7/19/2019,

Track List (Subject To Change)

  1. Freak In Common
  2. These Worlds Are Yours
  3. Calm Down
  4. Moving Target