Bands Needed for Punk O DeMayo! 5/4/19

It that awesome time of the year for Punk O DeMayo at Fraco’s formerly the Toad Tavern. If your band is interested in playing send us an email to


Filthy Few – Wealth & Hell Being

Filthy Few

“Wealth and Hell Being”


Ass End Records

lineup (per liner notes):

Chad Lottman: vocals

Eric “Benji Over” Hahn: guitar

Steve “Tuco Benedicto Pacifico Juan Maria Ramirez” Jacobs: bass

Brian Dyer: drums

Similar to: The Cramps, Reverend Horton Heat


You know, for a long time, I’ve been of the opinion that the world needs more psychobilly… it’s fun, chaotic, and requires an INSANE amount of talent to pull off! Psychobilly has some of the most intricately difficult music to play, no matter what instrument you play; and you have to have a singer that could PROBABLY get out of a murder charge on an insanity defense… and that particular combination of people is just rare…

… so any chance I have to check out psychobilly that I haven’t yet heard is a happy time for me, and I treasure it greatly!

So recently, I just happened to meet one of the members of Filthy Few, who sent me their 2007 album, “Wealth and Hell Being”… and y’all, this is definitely my happy time!

It’s sick… it’s perverted… it’s loud and rowdy… it’s everything you should expect from the genre!

When I first fired up the album and got into the first song, I had to double check to see if that’s Bobcat Goldthwait singing. It’s not, but the unhinged, wild style works PERFECTLY alongside the attitude set by the music. The end result is like what would happen if the Cramps went on a speed bender… and it’s AWESOME! South Park fans may also hear a more badass version of Timmy and the Masters of the Underworld.

Without question, this is one of the most entertaining Psychobilly albums I’ve encountered thus far, and look forward to (hopefully) seeing them in concert some day!

… and here’s where you can get it:

I recommend that you do so directly.


CPRA Music News: Mixed Kid Fridays Release New Single, “ASPHYXIANA”

Release Date: Feb 14th, 2019

Format: Digital

Location: Los Angeles, CA

Current Lineup: Per Facebook

  • Calvin Klein
  • Dominic Zinn
  • Isaac
  • Gil Lopez

Favorite Tracks: ASPHYXIANA

Sounds Like: NOFX, 10 Ft Pole, Rancid, Fourbanger, Nerdlinger, Vandals, The Follow Ups, Off The Mark, The Briggs

LA Punks Mixed Kid Fridays are expecting to drop their new album, “Taking Names” in May 2019! The new album will drop on Valentine’s Day 2019.





Post Punk Show Tonight At The Toad Tavern w/Redwing Blackbird And Guests


Facebook Event Invite:

CPRA and Mothership Music Productions Proudly Present: Post Punk Night At The Toad Tavern with RedwingBlackbird featuring the burlesque talents of Dixie D-Cups and GiGi Deluge, WitchHands and The Midnight Marionettes!

Kirsten Peckham – “KP Time!” Single Review for new track, ‘Black Lung’

Release Date: 1/25/2019

Format: Digital

Label: Crush Grove Records

Location: Louisville, Kentucky

Current Lineup:

  • Kirsten Peckham
  • Additional Musicians:
  • Greg Moore
  • Jared Coyle
  • Greg Simpson
  • Elliot Denning             

Favorite Tracks: Black Lung

Sounds Like: Neko Case, Imelda May, Patsy Cline, The Jazz Spiders, 86-B and Billie Holiday


Louisville’s Kirsten Peckman is set to release her brand new ep called, “KP Time” on January 25, 2019 via Crush Grove Records. FYI – Skabones birthday is the 24th so if you want to send me a gift. Please do! Haha. The days of Bandcamp, Reverb and Soundcloud are among us. There’s so much music out there. Plus there’s also some realy, really bad rappers. It’s not often you may stumble upon some purely unique.

Peckman’s new single from KP Time!, ‘Black Lung’ is a song that deserves some special attention. The memories are dreamy. The hooks enticing and lyrics catching. Peckman’s vocals are beautiful, hopeful, yet in some ways a bit haunting. There’s something in her voice that just makes you want to hear more. So check out the preview below and make sure to hit this preorder link, .

Tracks: Black Lung


Arborview -Through This Storm (Deluxe) ep

Release Date: November 2018

Format: Digital

Label: We Are Triumphant Records

Location: Sydney, AUS

Current Lineup: (Per Facebook)

  • Scotty Berger-Lead vocals & guitar
  • Eamon O’Byrne-Bass & backing vocals
  • Alex Powys-Drums & backing vocals

Favorite Tracks:

Stormy Weather, Fade, & Rise Up

Sounds Like:

Good Charlotte, All American Rejects, Relient K, New Found Glory, The Ataris



I’m ready to admit it. I love pop punk. I’ve dealt with a lot of “real punks” writing this genre off as too radio friendly, or too emo, or not gritty & overproduced. But damn it, The music is still catchy. Those melodies get stuck in your head, make you smile, drum the rhythm on your steering wheel, while singing terrible made up harmonies in your car where no one can hear how bad you are. In other words, the music is good.

I grew up loving Millencolin, The Ataris, Mr. T Experience, & MxPx. By the time the Good Charlotte & Sum 41 bands were hitting the radio, I was too much of a radio snob to just understand why those bands grabbed attention, but I later grew in appreciation for. Arborview is definitely influenced by that era, and is every bit of that quality of music. So if that’s your background, definitely give these guys a shot.

After an intro track, that didn’t really add much to the project, the music starts with their single, “Stormy Weather.” A tale that is a man trying to hold onto the relationship that had a rough patch. We’ve all been there, & it’s very relatable. “It’s you & me in this storm…” are lyrics where he’s showing his commitment & refuses to stop trying for what he wants to stay alive. It has great breaks, harmonies, and a drummer that keeps it interesting musically. What else could you want in your pop punk? You’re gonna be humming this one later.


Thematically, more of the same with “Corner of East and March,” where the writer is still trying to hang on to that love of his life after a mistake. Power Pop that drives right into “Fade” where, as a reviewer who is also a drummer, I love the tom work on the verses of this track. Again a loss of love track. Not sure if this was a purposeful concept of the record, or if this was just the recent life experiences that were being pulled from the time they were writing the songs for this project.

“Rise Up” is the track where he stands up for himself & stops longing for love. Instead the call to rise up and not last another day with others’ hands around their necks. Great breakdowns, again keeping the music interesting. And the conviction in the vocals by the last time the chorus is sung is the vocal highlight of this album.


“This Story’s Over” and “Wake Up” close out the songs from the original EP. and is more fast driving, positive move forward with your life anthems that are going to be stuck in your head for days after listening to them.

This “deluxe edition” adds 3 acoustic tracks of the first 3 songs. While I prefer the full studio versions of the tracks, it’s nice to show the range of the band for potential opportunities with acoustic sets as a possibility now, & you know they can still provide quality with that sound.

Again, the Pop side of punk isn’t for every punk fan, but if it is for you, you need to give this band a shot.


  1. Scotty Goes to the Studio (intro track)
  2. Stormy Weather
  3. Corner of East and March
  4. Fade
  5. Rise Up
  6. This Story’s Over
  7. Wake Up
  8. Stormy Weather (acoustic)
  9. Corner of East and March (acoustic)
  10. Fade (acoustic)


About The Author:

Griffin has been listening to punk records for the last 25 years. Now residing is Colorado Springs with his wife & 4 kids, he still tries to catch as many shows as he can.