Fine Dining – “Grass Fed Tunes”- Some EPS Make Me Sad, Because…

Release Date: August 2, 2019

Format: Digital, and Physical

Location: South Bay (Los Angeles), CA

Label:  Emmer Effer Records        

Current Lineup: (Per Facebook)

  • Paul Miner (ex bass player from Death By Stereo, Chris Navarrete on vocals (eken is dead), Simon Johnson (ex drummer Western Waste), and Kevin Wells on guitar (Emmer Effer)

Production (Per Bandcamp): All songs written and performed by Fine Dining, except Don’t Be Misunderstood written by Benjamin/Caldwell/Marcus.

Recorded and engineered by Paul Miner at Buzzbomb Studios in Anaheim, CA March 2019.

Produced by Fine Dining and Paul Miner.

Favorite Tracks: Somewhere Along the Line, Elephant In The Van, A Drink For You, and Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood  

Sounds Like: MF Ruckus, Pennywise, I Am The Owl, New Narrative, Strung Out, and Good Riddance

It happens all the time. A new band emerges from the depths of social media. Somehow they’ve broken algorithms and ended up on your playlist. You’ve added this brand new artist only to be faced with maybe 4-5 tracks tops. Yes the curse of the EP strikes again! I kid of course. Eps are the cheapest way for bands to get new material out fast. That also means we don’t have to wait years upon years for new music. 

The curse struck me again today when I checked out Fine Dining’s new EP, “Grass Fed Tunes”. Upon first listen with “Somewhere Along The Line” I became instantly hooked. The track comes roaring in with an epic skate punk sound. The bass is heavy and powerful, while the vocals are fine tuned. This track is only the start! 

I forgot to mention Fine Dining is somewhat of a supergroup with members such as Paul Miner (Ex bassist for Death By Stereo), Chris Navarrete on vocals (Eken Is Dead), Simon Johnson (Ex drummer Western Waste), and Kevin Wells on guitar (Emmer Effer). We’ve checked out the first track. Let’s move onto the second. 

“Elephant In The Van” comes roaring in. The track remains heavy on bass and guitar. Navarette’s vocals are phenomenal. This is so damn good! “A Drink For You” is the next up. Check out the video below! If there’s one thing music in general needs is tributes to those who have gone on before us! This track is in the same vein as Pennywise, “Bro Hymn”. FYI- My PC speaker cannot handle the lows of the bass on this track. 

A cover finishes out the ep, “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood”. The Animal’s version is on my list of top 5 all-time favorite songs. The track was originally used by Nina Simone and later popularized by the Animals. This version slides that line between hardcore skate and metal. I absolutely love this cover! Johnson’s drums combined with Navarette’s vocals take on new original style, while retaining everything I love about the orignal. 

Ok so why does this EP make me sad? It is 4 tracks of insanely well composed music. Punks and metalheads will love this while crossing over to the rock crowd as well. It’s not often we get an EP. that I simply adore from start to finish. The problem is now I’ve run out of tracks! So while I work on my letter, penned, “Fine Dining Make A Full Album ASAP”. You should definitely go download, “Grass Fed Tunes” before word gets out! Mark my words this little EP has mass potential. 

Help CPRA stay up and running! Hit that donate button below!

Track List (Per Bandcamp)

  1. Somewhere Along the Line 
  2. Elephant in the Van
  3. A Drink For You 
  4. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood



Denver’s Wild Lives Set To Drop New EP, “Return Of The Kid” at Streets of Denver Release Party on 6/22/2019

Release Date: 6/22/2019

Format: Digital                              

Label: DIY

Location: Denver, Colorado

Production: Mixed and produced by  Felipe Patino at Green Door Studios (Bricheros) and Ira Decther who mastered (OverTime)

Current Lineup: (Per Facebook)

  • Blake Pendergrass, drums
  • Hans Meyer, vox
  • Lindsey Housel, keys and vox
  • Jason Tollen, bass
  • Taylor Pendergrass, guitar

Track listing:



“Only One”


“Kill You to Live”

Normally when writing a review, we choose a few of our favorites…but I can’t choose a song I like best on this EP! I love every single track. Things that stick out to me: the opening riff of “Streets” is awesome and I love the vocal delivery.  Great choice as the EP opener. “Talk” is one of the faster tempo tracks, and the lyrics are awesome. It’s upbeat, rhythmic and relatable.

“The more they talkity talk

The less you walk walk walk

And the more they squakity squak

The more we walk walk walk away!”

“Only One” is perfectly aggressive, the guitar riff on “Riots” is infectious and has quintessential sing-along vocals: “The bell tolls. The riots roll!”

“Kill You to Live” has an awesome breakdown and the build up is well placed and timed.

Reminds me of: Suicide Machines, Black Flag, Bad Brains, Pennywise, The Buzzcocks, Rancid, Ten Foot Pole, Dwarves, Murder City Devils, TSOL, The Muffs.

Overall: Production wise, I think this EP is very well done. The drum sound is punchy and in your face but not overpowering, the bass and guitar tones are energetic yet still warm, the keyboards are mixed very well, providing a lush harmonic noise floor, and both vocalists deliver tireless, passionate words that you know they believe in. This band is not posing at all! This recording captures their energy and enthusiasm which I can only imagine is equally as good live.

Be sure to catch the Wild Lives EP Release Party this Saturday at Streets Of Denver with Cheap Perfume and Vic N’ The Narwhals. Get your tickets soon as this banger is likely to sell out!

About The Reviewer:

Megan Kelley is the front woman for Denver based post-punk band Married a Dead Man. She is an accomplished pianist, keyboardist and singer, with a full time private music teaching studio. She is also a composer, songwriter and holds degrees in classical voice and piano, as well as a second degree in sound engineering. Music is her entire existence.

Available Now!

Help CPRA stay up and running! Hit that donate button below!