Dorkatron – The Extra Mile (EP)

Release date: May 17, 2018

Format: Digital, Vinyl comes as a screenprinted one sided 12”

Label: Monster Zero Records

Location: Klagenfurt, Austria

Current Lineup: (Per Monster Zero)

  • Manu – Drums / Lead Vocals
  • Bobo – Bass / Lead Vocals
  • Kalle – Guitar / Backing vocals
  • Marcel – Guitar / Backing vocals

Sounds Like: Aimless Again, Nerf Herder, Proton Packs, Livermores, Lillingtons, Ramones

CPRA Favorite Tracks: Books Not Bombs, Is She Really Going Out Tonight?, The Extra Mile,




Well the real Adam Goldberg please stand up? I mention Adam as he has become my personal favorite of all time nerd. He like many of us loves, monsters, sci/fi and is obsessed with the 1980’s. We have also been the subject of bullying, and less than enthusiastic parents regarding our hobbies. Our hobbies tend to be non-sports related and often cost just as much. What happens when you take a bunch of nerdy musicians combined them for some kick ass punk? You get Austrian based, pop punks, Dorkatron!

Dorkatron’s new ep, called, “The Extra Mile”, dropped on 5/17/2018. This ep is a blast of nerdy melodic pop punk to your ears. The ep kicks things off with, “Is She Really Going Out Tonight?”. This “Break Up Punk” love song, has a very tight Ramones like sound. I really love the melody and the bass line. “Chemical Reaction” continues this awesome nerd assault in your ears, with heart pounding drums and riffs.

“Start reading books, don’t drop bombs”

‘Lunch Money’, talks about standing up to that asshole stealing your lunch money every day. Man I had a few of those guys back in the day. Assholes for sure! I can definitely see a fun mosh pit starting out for this one! It has a great little riff, fun lyrics and is encourages self- preservation.

“L.U.I.S.E”, is fast and fun with great drums, and poppy. Are you seeing a rhythm here yet? It’s fun! One of my favorites is definitely, ‘Books Not Bombs’. This song deserves some serious airplay. It’s immediately catchy and you get that awkward “Peace” feeling too! This should be the world’s anthem, “Start reading books, don’t drop bombs”.



‘The Extra Mile’, is the last on the ep. It slows down just a bit to a nice comfortable level. I really love the lyrics, the vocals, and the sound of this song. It’s definitely more on the serious side and breaks away from that formulaic Romone’s sound.  Overall this is a kick ass ep. I cannot wait for the next release. Dorkatron keeps the nerdy, and the punk combined where they should be, together.

Track Listing:

1. Is She Really Going Out Tonight?

2. Chemical Reaction

3. Lunch Money

4. Luise

5. Books Not Bombs

6. The Extra Mile





1 Comment

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website? My blog site is in the exact same niche as yours and my users would definitely benefit from a lot of the information you present here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Thanks!

Leave a Reply